An eminent and highly experienced man of the church. He served as Metropolitan of Kition in Cyprus (1910-1918), Metropolitan of Athens (1918-1921) and Ecumenical Patriarch (1921-1923). In 1926 he was elected as Patriarch of Alexandria. He compiled the “Standing Law of the Greek Orthodox Patriarchate of Alexandria”, the “Organization of the Courts of the Patriarchal Throne of Alexandria and its existing Legal Procedures” and the “Order for Marriage and Divorce”. During his tenure as Patriarchate, by special Order “of the Formulae for Metropolises”, the nine Ecclesiastical Provinces of the Throne were determined. He was the first to be given the title of Patriarch of All Africa.